Level 5 Diploma in Computing (Advanced)


The Level 5 Diploma in Computing (QCF) is NCC Education’s International Advanced Diploma in Computing. The programme builds on the knowledge gained during the NCC Education International Diploma in Computing (Level 4 Diploma in Computing) by exposing you to greater detail and more advanced topics in a range of areas including database development, information systems analysis, and network security and cryptography.

During the teaching of the programme, you will study a balance of academic and vocational subjects in order to provide you with the necessary knowledge and skills to play a significant role in IT organisations.

On successful completion of the programme, you will be able to complete the final year of a degree at one of the many universities that recognise NCC Education qualifications, or pursue a career in the IT industry

Entry Requirement

  • NCC Education International Diploma in Computing (Level 4 Diploma in Computing) qualification.
  • A local or international qualification which is deemed to be of a similar level to the NCC Education International Diploma in Computing (Level 4 Diploma in Computing) programme.


Professional Issues in IT – highlights the knowledge and skills used in the professional issues that impact on the development, deployment, maintenance and use of computer systems. This module will equip you with the knowledge surrounding social, ethical and legal issues applicable to the IT field and also a working understanding of software quality.

Network Security and Cryptography – provides you with the underlying theory and practical skills required to secure networks and to send data safely and securely over network communications.

Information Systems Analysis – equips you with a range of tools in order to analyse the function and requirements of Information Systems, as well as the skills to compare systems analysis models, and to examine them in the wider context of the Internet and the social, economic and political climate of an organisation.

Dynamic Websites – builds on existing knowledge of both databases and web design in order to build dynamic websites and also equips you with a range of skills to present content on the World Wide Web.

Analysis, Design and Implementation – provides you with in-depth knowledge, skills and experience in the use of object-orientated techniques for the development of software. The unit also develops your expertise in object-oriented analysis, design and coding, and the testing of systems.

Database Development and Design – allows you to develop your skills in the design and development of databases and database management systems, as well as investigating enterprise applications of databases.

Agile Systems – explores the processes, people, practices and principles of agile development systems. The unit fully prepares you for the future trends in software development and reinforces your understanding of the information systems development process.

Computing Project – gives you the opportunity to utilise the skills needed to develop a computing artefact to solve a problem, which involves research, analysis, design, coding, testing and project management knowledge and expertise.


All units, except the project, are assessed by both examination and coursework assignments.


Held two times a year – January and July.


The qualification allows student’s entry to either NCC Education’s final year of UK Middlesex University or University of Central Lancashire programmes

Code Course Duration
L5DC-PIIT Professional Issues in IT 1 Year
L5DC-NSC Network Security and Cryptography 1 Year
L5DC-DW Dynamic Websites 1 Year
L5DC-ADI Analysis, Design and Implementation 1 Year
L5DC-DDD Database Development and Design 1 Year
L5DC-AG Agile Systems 1 Year
L5DC-CP Computing Project 1 Year
L5DC-ISA Information Systems Analysis 1 Year
Start date Time Duration Location
January 6, 2020 Day 12 months Nairobi
January 6, 2020 Evening 12 months Mombasa
January 6, 2020 Evening 12 months Nairobi
January 6, 2020 Evening 12 months Mombasa